The 23 rd annual Spell-A-Thon, held March 8, was not only fun for the participants but it also brought in over $3200 to be used by MBCAL to purchase books and materials for our tutors and students. Thanks go to the Kiwanis Club of Twentynine Palms for sponsoring the event to benefit MBCAL.

Getting their names on the MBCAL Spell-A-Thon plaques as the winners are the Letterhead Shrikes with Joe Zarki, Marilyn Lutz, and Katie Sosayachanh. The Shrikes managed to come up with correct spellings for “bibelot” and “pusillanimous” for the win, while Tami Roleff, Sherri Bevin, and Mary Kay Buckley of the Silky Spellbinders missed “bibelot” to take second. Coming in third was the team of Stacy Moore, Mike Armstrong, and Courtney Vaughn from the Hi-Desert Star. Other teams participating were the Best People on Earth (Kathy Clark, John King, and Michelle Pinney), 29 Palms Chamber Chicks (Cynthia Truitt, Laurel Lunn, and Justine LeStrange), Friends of the Twentynine Palms Library (Jean Graham, Renee Recker, and Amelia Rodelo), Musical Mommas (Phyllis Lyte, Norma Mackie, and Lois Conklin), Palm Vista K-Kids (Cindi King, Austin King, and Cody Lyn Riddle), We CareHospice/Ambulance of Morongo Basin (Robin Ruggeri, Kay Star, and Yvonne Salas), Writers of the Desert Sage–Desert Trail (Kurt Schauppner, Brandi Larson, and Rebecca Unger), and YVHS Key Club (Riley Militar, Sierra Robinson, and Dianne Greenhouse).

The pronouncer was Caryn Davidson, and the judges were Ron Bryant and Leslie Layman. Cathy (Itnyre) and the Lascivious Lads (David Norton and Colin MacLaughlin) of CMC won the prize for Most Pledges by bringing in $800. Drawing prize tickets earned another $414. The large pot donated by ceramicist Ed Keesling went to David Norton of the Lascivious Lads, and Ed himself pulled the winning ticket. Thank you to everyone who participated. We appreciate every donation, no matter how big or small. It all helps.

And a special thank you to the Kiwanis Club of Twentynine Palms and to Jennifer Salciccioli, who took the lead in the planning; René Williams, who kept track of the money; and Herman Platzke, who helped wherever needed. Kiwanians who came to assist on the day of the event were Jennifer, René, Herman, Cleve Spaight, Phil Fultz, Jerry Fabricius, who manned the timer, and Kurt Schauppner, who spelled on a team.

Thanks also go out to our many prize donors: A. Fox Hair Design–Cathy Patrick and Dot Valentine, A New Creation Florist & Gifts, Action Council of 29 Palms, Applebee’s of Yucca Valley, Bob Bergey, photographer Shelly Burrer, Burrtec Waste and Recycling, Copper Mountain College Foundation, Cowboy Attic of 29 Palms, Caryn Davidson, artist Pat Flynn, Dianne Greenhouse, Ed Keesling pottery, Cindi King pottery, Phyllis Lyte, Marshal Networking, Debbie Medina, photographer Linda Molnar, Morning’s Nursery of 29 Palms, Herman Platzke, Rosie’s Thrift Shop, Jennifer Salciccioli, Kurt Schauppner, Bill & Kathy Truesdell, Twentynine Palms Kiwanis Club, René & Sonny Williams, Whittaker’s Art Supply of 29 Palms.

Thanks also go to the Desert Trail, HiDesert Star, KCDZ 107.7 Radio, and the Chambers of Commerce for the Morongo Basin for great publicity and to the Helen Gray Education Center for their set-up and catering by Terri Quinn.